top of page

New Curriculum
Cwricwlwm Newydd

New Curriculum for Wales

This is an exciting time for the young people of Wales.  A new Curriculum for Wales is coming that will enthuse learners from 3-16, giving them the foundations they need to succeed in a changing world.

The four purposes will be at the heart of our new curriculum.  They will be the starting point for all decisions on the content and experiences developed as part of the curriculum to support our children and young people to be:

  • ambitious, capable learners ready to learn throughout their lives

  • enterprising, creative contributors, ready to play a full part in life and work

  • ethical, informed citizens of Wales and the world

  • healthy, confident individuals, ready to lead fulfilling lives as valued members of society


Key elements

The new curriculum will include:

  • 6 Areas of Learning and Experience from 3-16

  • 3 cross curriculum responsibilities: Literacy, Numeracy and Digital Competence

  • progression reference points at ages 5, 8, 11, 14 and 16

  • achievement outcomes which describe expected achievements at each progression reference point

The curriculum will be organised into 6 Areas of Learning and Experience:

  • Expressive Arts

  • Health and well-being

  • Humanities (including RE which should remain compulsory to aged 16)

  • Languages, Literacy and Communication (including Welsh, which should remain compulsory to aged 16, and modern foreign languages)

  • Mathematics and Numeracy

  • Science and Technology (including Computer Science)

For further information and guidance on the Curriculum for Wales please click on the image below. 

Curriculum for Wales.png
bottom of page